The One Where Now I’m Going to Run into the Woods

So a couple of weeks ago, Taylor questioned ‘Are We Out of the Woods?’, ten minutes ago I had an epiphany that I should run into the woods. You may be confused, let me explain.

It’s as simple as I think I should start running again. If you haven’t met me, I’m extremely petite. My biggest life achievement so far has been making it to five-foot. ‘Five-foot what?’you may ask…no no, just five-foot. I’ve been active my entire life. I would get up to go swimming before school each day and play different sports on Saturday and Sunday. I feel good being active. I’m blessed that I don’t feel like it’s a chore however, I do get bored easily. For example, playing a sport like hockey, I don’t consider it as exercise. It’s fun, changing and most importantly, social. But to be honest, lately I’ve been struggling to maintain my motivation at the gym. I’ve been brought up in a way where you try to exercise every day. To this day (I’m not passing any judgement) but I struggle to fathom when people say ‘I haven’t exercised in about a month or two’…. um how? I feel guilty if I miss a day. But everyone’s different and everyone has different priorities. For me, exercise and healthy living is one. I want to stay healthy, fit and happy.

It’s a strange thing motivation. Some days you have it, some days you don’t. But funnily enough, the days I push myself at the gym and have this intense workout, I always feel so good and so energised. But somehow, even though I know how positive I feel after a good workout, I still continue to struggle to push myself each time to that place.

I used to love running. When I was younger, I thought the faster and longer you ran, the easier it was to get rid of all your problems. Where that came from I don’t know! But I trained and tried hard and to be the best I could be. But in recent years, even though my fitness has maintained, my love for running has diminished.

So it’s time to make a change. There is one place that my greatest thoughts and ideas come from – the shower. So as I was washing my hair a little while ago, I decided running is back on the table. Don’t judge, I’ve been back from the US for nearly 11 months now and still haven’t completely lost all my extra pounds! This is where running is going to come in. I’m going to run 5km 3 times a week as well as continue to go to the gym and play my sports. This isn’t about losing weight or getting a thigh gap or whatever the latest fitness craze is, it’s about re-connecting with something I used to love.

I eat healthy on a regular basis – it’s just my portion sizes (thanks America!). So I’m going to continue eating what I eat but monitor how much of it I’ll consume. Along with my food intake, I’m going to continue to track my running times etc. on my blog to try be my own motivation.

Feel free to get back into something you used to love too with me. It’s so good to set yourself time away to do something just for you. It’s healthy, relaxing and makes you feel good.

Good luck, I’d love to hear from you,

Katee xx

Leave a Reply

