The One With My Favourite Time of the Year!

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE! 

If you know me, you’d know Christmas is one of my favourite times of the year! I’m an all-year-long self-proclaimed obnoxious caroller, have an unhealthy obsession with Carols in the Domain where I get to the event each year by 4am and even own a Christmas dress with tinsel, baubles and lights that I wear at every opportunity possible.

Me in my tinsel, bauble, lights filled Christmas dress at Carols in the Domain 2014
Me in my tinsel, bauble, lights filled Christmas dress at Carols in the Domain 2014
Last year I spent my Christmas in Israel which was both hard and different for me. So this year I was extremely glad to be back on home soil spending the day with family and friends. Christmas is about giving and spending time with close loved ones. I hope you all had a wonderful happy day and shared as much peach and love around as possible.

Because what would life be without a Christmas selfie?
Because what would life be without a Christmas selfie?
In the last few weeks, Australia as a country and Sydney as a city has gone through a lot of horrible times but as a society we’ve stuck together and shown our true spirit and love. It’s sad that this love came about from some sad times but let’s continue to share this positive spirit and spread it across the world. There’s nothing more important in life than being good to people. We can all get caught up in our own lives and forget to stop and reflect. So I ask you, try and spend a few minutes every day to reflect on your actions and try find ways to continue to be a better person every day.

A positive spirit can go a long way. This week when I was volunteering for the Myer Vision Australia gift wrap, I met a lady who had bought hundreds of dollars worth of presents for her children. She got them gift wrapped and everything and then placed them all in a garbage bag and left it in the car so her children wouldn’t find it. Later that afternoon, all the presents got stolen. The next day, she re-bought everything and came back to get them wrapped. She had a truly amazing spirit. She said

‘Of course I’m upset that the children’s presents got stolen. But at the end of the day, we have our health and happiness and that’s all that matters.’

And she was right. This Christmas let’s keep in mind those who are unwell, might be spending Christmas away from home and even those who need our prayers right now. We all have our own different situations that we struggle with and can only pray that we get through it.

I believe in karma. Let’s spread love not hate.

Merry Christmas xx

Leave a Reply

